Hand-Shaped Door Knockers: A Short History

DSCN0057I have always been fascinated with them. Hand-shaped door knockers. The first one I ever saw was in Prague, and ever since I’ve kept my eyes open for them, and not without results. They’re everywhere! There exist a multitude of stories about them, most are related to the muslim world. One of the stories is that the hand -symbolizing the Hand of Fatima- was not only a talisman to protect a house from evil but also a sign for other muslims in non-muslim countries that in a certain house lived people of their faith.

knocker

Other explanations are that there exist male and female hand-knockers, and that many doors had two knockers, one male and one female. It was inappropriate for a muslim woman to open the door to a man, and therefor visitors were expected to use the knocker according to gender. Both made different sounds, and so the woman of the house knew if it was appropriate to open the door from the sound of the knock.

I don’t know how much of these stories is true, but I do know that these door knockers can be seen in a multitude of places! Enjoy the photos… They’re taken in places all over the world, from France to Italy, Greece and Jordan. They’re not all taken by me, unfortunately…

HandKnockera98406_door-knocker_5-handblackandwhitedoorhandle450px-Heurtoir_Orléans_mai_2008

If you love hand-shaped door-knockers as much as I do, you’re going to love the photographs of Arkeolog, who lives in Turkey and has collected hundreds of photos of hand-shaped door knockers in his homeland and neighboring countries…

http://members.virtualtourist.com/m/tt/a8cb3/

About quantumphysica

My name is QuantumPhysica The Insane, but you can call me QP. I am insane, admitted to a mental hospital in Belgium, and waiting for a decent diagnosis at the moment. Once I was a physics student with goals in life and what more; now I'm simply the patient of Room 93. Ever wondered what life is like in the psychiatric ward? I'll tell you everything you ever wanted to know... I am... particularly twitchy of personality. But I also am genuinely interested in everything. There is nothing that doesn't interest me, really. Everything, from quantum computers to fashion and cars to traveling... I also give advice. On anything. No taboos whatsoever. And I make lists of things...
This entry was posted in Design and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Hand-Shaped Door Knockers: A Short History

  1. Pingback: Just Look At These Knockers! | AlyZen Moonshadow Mobile Photography Art & Design

Leave a comment