A Sinking Feeling… Hannes Van Severen’s Furniture Art

Hannes Van Severen is a visual artist who lives and works in Ghent, Belgium. (Makes me proud to be a Belgian!) His work is unsettling yet appealing, based on daily life objects yet paradoxically useless. My favorite pieces are his furniture-based works; if you are looking for a way to distort your reality in an artistic fashion, this is definitely the way to go. Now if only they were functional as well…

hannesvanseveren9hannesvanseveren5 hannesvanseveren4 hannesvanseveren3

Find more of this artist’s intriguing work on: www.hannesvanseveren.be

About quantumphysica

My name is QuantumPhysica The Insane, but you can call me QP. I am insane, admitted to a mental hospital in Belgium, and waiting for a decent diagnosis at the moment. Once I was a physics student with goals in life and what more; now I'm simply the patient of Room 93. Ever wondered what life is like in the psychiatric ward? I'll tell you everything you ever wanted to know... I am... particularly twitchy of personality. But I also am genuinely interested in everything. There is nothing that doesn't interest me, really. Everything, from quantum computers to fashion and cars to traveling... I also give advice. On anything. No taboos whatsoever. And I make lists of things...
This entry was posted in Art, Design and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Sinking Feeling… Hannes Van Severen’s Furniture Art

  1. YAPCaB says:

    These are too cool. I agree it would be much better if they were functional. Great find!

  2. Isleofmisfittoys says:

    I love things that are….different. hahah I think it would be great fun to trade someone’s furniture out with this sort of stuff while they were out. The expression when they first came home would be priceless!!!!

    -misfit

Leave a comment