Memento Mori Monday: The Anatomical Venus

It’s been a while… but it’s monday and I felt like doing something other than freaking out today, so here I am again.

78c73d13209a95480ae1c907e93381fe anatomicaltheatre16jpg_0.img_assist_custom-600x401

An Anatomical Venus is a wax model of a female, that either has her organs in sight, or can be dissected by means of removable parts. The dolls were invented in the late 18th century (Victorian Era) to educate both physicians and laymen about the peculiarities of female anatomy. If not in a medical institution, an Anatomical Venus could often be found on display in traveling sideshows. Women were allowed and even encouraged to visit these expositions, as it was deemed important they learned about the workings of their own body. The displays also served to warn the general populace of the dangers of promiscuity, as there was often a whole section of them devoted to venereal diseases.

16e85e8ea73a67a2706d350c06b7999b

Nevertheless, the models usually had very beautiful features, and sometimes they were placed in oddly sensual positions. The contrast between esthetic attraction and repulsion is quite strange… and to me, quite enticing also.

33612ef2a84ce80c2fad9bae150c1047

There just is something about seeing a beautiful woman with her skin peeled back and her organs spread out on the table that sends a tingle of delight over my skin… I don’t think I need to elaborate on why I picked this for Memento Mori monday, right?

Venus02

It reminds me of some modern art by Daniel Hirst I saw in an exposition lately, but stranger, knowing that these weren’t meant as art per se.

78362007_3165375_23

This is basically the predecessor of the famous Körperwelten exposition, and I imagine it must have drawn a similarly intrigued public back in the days…

lq_20101109-img_0279

For more information about the Anatomical Venus, check:http://www.wellcome.ac.uk/en/wc/anatomical-venus/index.htm

For more intriguing pictures of anatomical models and doctor dolls, this Pinterest board is without compare:

About quantumphysica

My name is QuantumPhysica The Insane, but you can call me QP. I am insane, admitted to a mental hospital in Belgium, and waiting for a decent diagnosis at the moment. Once I was a physics student with goals in life and what more; now I'm simply the patient of Room 93. Ever wondered what life is like in the psychiatric ward? I'll tell you everything you ever wanted to know... I am... particularly twitchy of personality. But I also am genuinely interested in everything. There is nothing that doesn't interest me, really. Everything, from quantum computers to fashion and cars to traveling... I also give advice. On anything. No taboos whatsoever. And I make lists of things...
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Memento Mori Monday: The Anatomical Venus

  1. YAPCaB says:

    Glad you’re back and the exams are behind you.

    • They are not. They haven’t even started, unfortunately. I’m back because I need to distract myself from impending doom… *sigh*

      • YAPCaB says:

        Well it’s a roller coaster story for me. Last Friday night was great. Saturday and Sunday, not so good. I spent much of the time praying for an aneurism to kill me. Such are the delights of my Lupron induced depressions. This evening has been much better, had a really good time tonight.

        I hope you’re having at least some breaks where you feel good. You deserve it.

      • I’m sorry to hear your medication is making you feel miserable. I’m not sure it compares, but I know a thing or two about drug side effects and chemical imbalance, and it’s no fun. I hope the good moments do outweigh the bad in both quantity and quality 😉

        I have good moments too; menial tasks like sewing and cleaning usually ease my mind for the time they take to do, and small things like a friendly word, a fanfic review, or a hug of my little sister generally make me feel better as well for a little while. I try to hold on to that when things are worse.

      • YAPCaB says:

        The good times do outweigh the bad thankfully.

        I find distraction, such as reading the news, is the best way for me to cope.

  2. YAPCaB says:

    Just read the other post. Sorry exams aren’t behind you and things aren’t going well.

Leave a comment