#Cosplay: Morgoth’s Gauntlets

The conventions I plan on going to are drawing close, so I need to turn up the efforts on my Morgoth costume… I quasi-finished the gauntlets last week (they need one more layer of paint but I ran out x_x), so here is a short overview of what I did. I didn’t make a real tutorial for this, as I used the excellent gauntlet-template by RoxasTsuna on deviantArt and I don’t want to take credit for her work. (Do check out the template if you’re interested, it has a link to a youtube video with further explanations. The template is actually for a character named Vincent Valentine, but I figured they’d be just as nice for Morgoth.)

Ribbet collage
The gauntlets were made out of white glossy cardstock, split pins, a bit of craft foam, and paper tape to fasten the part that goes over the hand. For more instructions on how to put it all together, I reference everyone to RoxasTsuna’s tutorial. I spray painted everything black high gloss, but I first gave the hand-parts a layer of primer because of the craft foam decoration.
To be completely honest, I’m not much of a fan of the hand-parts as they are now and I might replace them, but with my deadline drawing closer I might not get to it. Normally the gauntlets will be worn with black gloves underneath, and I will put them on less messily than I did in these pics… Also, the white bits you still see will be gone as soon as I can buy the right paint.

Foto op 27-07-14 om 16.12 #2

Also: a couple funny facts I discovered about myself, and more specifically my hands, while making these gauntlets.

  • I have extremely large hands for my length. This has always been the case apparently; my mother told me that the first thing she thought when the nurse handed my newborn self to her was, “Wow. Those hands are huge.” xD I always thought this was a silly story, but it’s true. They’re kind of out of proportion. (And I love them!)
  • My right hand middle finger is crooked. This is why you see it peaking out from the gauntlet in the above picture; it’s not just camera angle.* The gauntlet was made for a straight finger, mine happens to have a bend in it. As far as I know I never broke it, so I guess it was a “deformation” I was born with. (My late grandma would say it’s from flipping people the bird, which is of course a possibility too given my habits xD)

Alas, so far my recent cosplay efforts! I am trying to get back to keeping up this blog, but life is a bitch, retake exams are coming, and I’m not in the best state of mind. I hope to show you guys some finished cosplay soon though!

About quantumphysica

My name is QuantumPhysica The Insane, but you can call me QP. I am insane, admitted to a mental hospital in Belgium, and waiting for a decent diagnosis at the moment. Once I was a physics student with goals in life and what more; now I'm simply the patient of Room 93. Ever wondered what life is like in the psychiatric ward? I'll tell you everything you ever wanted to know... I am... particularly twitchy of personality. But I also am genuinely interested in everything. There is nothing that doesn't interest me, really. Everything, from quantum computers to fashion and cars to traveling... I also give advice. On anything. No taboos whatsoever. And I make lists of things...
This entry was posted in Cosplay and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #Cosplay: Morgoth’s Gauntlets

  1. YAPCaB says:

    Looks good. I assume you’ll color your hands black or wear black gloves to complete the effect.

Leave a Reply

