Alea Iacta Est… 3D Printed Dice

I never knew why anyone would need dice other than the classic dotted cube… but then, my experience with dice-games is limited to the kind you play with your family around the salon table. After seeing the beautiful dice of Shapeways designer Ceramicwombat, I might just expand my game horizons, if only to have an excuse to buy some of these…

72c390e5f7c82cb0e03b95c1aebdddaa

As with most Shapeways designs, these dice are available in a variety of sizes and materials, and they come in many more shapes than the ones I featured here. I had to pick my favorites… and that was very, very hard. Do check out the designer’s store, it’s full of awesome! (Shapeways is a bit like Modcloth or Etsy to me; I click from one thing to the next, going all “I WANT EVERYTHINNNG” in my head…)

625x465_126155_1052422_1403193154 625x465_126260_1052389_1392837368 625x465_1136232_1052339_1370477830 625x465_105443_1054986_1370564189

More 3D-printed epicness here: http://www.shapeways.com/designer/ceramicwombat

About quantumphysica

My name is QuantumPhysica The Insane, but you can call me QP. I am insane, admitted to a mental hospital in Belgium, and waiting for a decent diagnosis at the moment. Once I was a physics student with goals in life and what more; now I'm simply the patient of Room 93. Ever wondered what life is like in the psychiatric ward? I'll tell you everything you ever wanted to know... I am... particularly twitchy of personality. But I also am genuinely interested in everything. There is nothing that doesn't interest me, really. Everything, from quantum computers to fashion and cars to traveling... I also give advice. On anything. No taboos whatsoever. And I make lists of things...
This entry was posted in Design and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Alea Iacta Est… 3D Printed Dice

  1. AstroPilot says:

    Very nice design work! Is it true for all of those, that like in a normal cube the sum of numbers on opposite sides is a constant (n+1 with n being the number of surface segments) ?

Leave a Reply

