A Little Light-Headed… Pill Lamps

This week has been hard on me, and next week (when classes start again) it’ll be even worse. My sanity is currently hanging by a thin, medication-induced thread… As I usually feature items that appeal to my state of mind, I thought this very fitting: lamps shaped like pills. All of us who have ever taken a pill to turn the (mental) light off at night can probably see the irony. Not to mention that they look nice too!

Pillola-Modern-Design-Pill-Lamps-3 68_0370

“Pillola” is a set of five posable pill-shaped lamps, designed by Cesare Casati and Emanuele Ponzio. Designed in the 1960’s, the set is now a collector’s item. I’d love to have these, but as they’re “Price Upon Request” on sites like 1stDibs.com, I doubt I’ll ever be able to afford them… http://www.1stdibs.com/furniture/lighting/table-lamps/pillola-set-of-five-lamps-cesare-casati-emanuele-ponzio/id-f_696172/

9792782937 Pil-Pendant-Lamp-designer-Tim-Wigmore-5

Slightly more budget-friendly is “The Pil”, a pendant lamp by New Zealand designer Tom Wigmore. Artisan blown glass and hand-turned wooden casing make it a high quality piece, but it’s still (sort of) affordable… Sold online at: http://www.cleverbastards.co.nz/the-store/lighting/the-pil/26274

3pillsweb  935e4b6398c38aa4cf19e32ca2288d58

And then there are the ones you apparently can’t buy anywhere. “Light Pill” was the project of designers Lauri Lemmenlehti and Abel Groenewolt. It looks super cute and won them a prize from the Finnish Aalto University in 2012, but I’m afraid it’s only a conceptual thing. *sigh* And then there’s the Kikkerland Chill Pill. It was available for a cheap from a variety of online stores, but apparently it has been (temporarily) removed from Kikkerland’s collection. I hope it’ll be back!

And voila, pills galore! I should probably take mine now and try to catch some sleep…

About quantumphysica

My name is QuantumPhysica The Insane, but you can call me QP. I am insane, admitted to a mental hospital in Belgium, and waiting for a decent diagnosis at the moment. Once I was a physics student with goals in life and what more; now I'm simply the patient of Room 93. Ever wondered what life is like in the psychiatric ward? I'll tell you everything you ever wanted to know... I am... particularly twitchy of personality. But I also am genuinely interested in everything. There is nothing that doesn't interest me, really. Everything, from quantum computers to fashion and cars to traveling... I also give advice. On anything. No taboos whatsoever. And I make lists of things...
This entry was posted in Design and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

