Murphy, Dr Doom, And Turin Turambar Walk Into A Bar…

Some days, everything that can go wrong, goes wrong. Experiment No.7 and I call those days “Turin Days”, after the tragic hero from Tolkien’s “The Children of Hurin”. (Turin features quite prominently in our conversations. “Being Turin about something” means acting overly dramatic, and “Turin Advice” is advice that sounds good but really is a bad idea.)

I’m (in)famous for attracting ridiculously improbable events to my person. Sometimes that’s awesome, but most of the time it just means I’m extra fucked. By example, the odds are that I managed to “separate” my shoulder blade this morning, which would explain why it’s all swollen and painful now. There was a hornet in my room, and I was still half asleep. I panicked, fell out of bed, crashed into my bedside table, broke a glass, tripped over fallen books, fell with my shoulder against my bookcase, managed to throw down a heap of fragile stuff (lots of it shattered), and then cut my foot on the shards of my broken stuff. I didn’t get stung by the hornet, but that was about everything that was positive about it. What a way to start my day, right? (And yesterday wasn’t much better, it was one big series of forgotten wallets and cellphones, missed trains, and wrong takeaway orders.)

Thankfully I didn’t need to go to school today, so I could stay safely at home and sit out the siege…

About quantumphysica

My name is QuantumPhysica The Insane, but you can call me QP. I am insane, admitted to a mental hospital in Belgium, and waiting for a decent diagnosis at the moment. Once I was a physics student with goals in life and what more; now I'm simply the patient of Room 93. Ever wondered what life is like in the psychiatric ward? I'll tell you everything you ever wanted to know... I am... particularly twitchy of personality. But I also am genuinely interested in everything. There is nothing that doesn't interest me, really. Everything, from quantum computers to fashion and cars to traveling... I also give advice. On anything. No taboos whatsoever. And I make lists of things...
This entry was posted in Insanity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Murphy, Dr Doom, And Turin Turambar Walk Into A Bar…

  1. AstroPilot says:

    About these ridiculously improbable events: are they always negative? I guess yes, because negative usually corresponds to an increase in entropy, and there is this second law of thermodynamics. But that is only a statement about probability, it is not impossible to experience a positive event.

    • Well, not always. Let’s just say that if it’s rather unlikely, experience learns that I’ll probably encounter the likes of it. I can just as well lose all my hair in an accident with a dough mixer as I can get invited to a posh party because the party’s hostess sat in the dressing room next to me and started a chat after I helped her close her zipper. (Both have happened, by the way.)
      I think the negative improbable things just stand out more because they tend to bring un-negligible damage to myself and my environment, while the positive improbable things tend to save me from such damage.

Leave a Reply

