Memento Mori Monday: In The Wake Of Disaster

It’s Monday again, and in the light of all that is happening in Europe (Who knows, we might be heading for WWIII if we don’t watch out…) I thought to look towards Ukraine for a Memento Mori. The Chernobyl Disaster might not lie too fresh in our generation’s memory, but it’s remnants are all the more haunting for it…

a78320ec60acb0a9752b3ca41aef469b

Is there a more poignant Vanitas picture than an abandoned town? This is a place where death has passed; this is what it left behind. These places were once part of the daily life of people. Ordinary people for the most part; they didn’t do anything of great importance, they were no different from you or me… And now they are gone. The world remember the disaster, but who remembers them?

f06ad965a423a2642ed0bdf22c01ee59

It is rather humbling to realize how unimportant we all are. Our daily life, our troubles, our hopes, our personalities… All of it will be erased for ever, in time. In a hundred years, our world might be a picture in a history book… in the best case. Everything we consider normal now will be obsolete or forgotten, and we… we will be gone. We don’t leave anything behind.

b18fd22c598b5244b63151906574472d

We are transient beings. We pass through and leave nothing behind.

22eca1c40c9d35f9e30d0db08a3dd4a0

Photos by photographer Sil Van Diepen: http://silvandiepen.deviantart.com

For more eery pictures and beautiful musings, I would recommend everyone to read the journal of Elena’s motorcycle ride through Chernobyl, at http://www.kiddofspeed.com. I didn’t take pictures from her site on purpose; they have much more impact accompanied by her own words.

About quantumphysica

My name is QuantumPhysica The Insane, but you can call me QP. I am insane, admitted to a mental hospital in Belgium, and waiting for a decent diagnosis at the moment. Once I was a physics student with goals in life and what more; now I'm simply the patient of Room 93. Ever wondered what life is like in the psychiatric ward? I'll tell you everything you ever wanted to know... I am... particularly twitchy of personality. But I also am genuinely interested in everything. There is nothing that doesn't interest me, really. Everything, from quantum computers to fashion and cars to traveling... I also give advice. On anything. No taboos whatsoever. And I make lists of things...
This entry was posted in Art, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

