Glorious Purpose, Mark II…

Yes, the exam period has begun. Glorious Purpose, Mark II. I’m afraid it’s going to a lengthy battle with a considerable lack of glory in it… Either way, it’s inescapable. One paper, five exams, little hope for success. But, going down in style is an art as well, and I definitely plan on retaining my dignity in the coming massacre. Greatest obstacles will be…

  • The Silmarillion. Yes, believe it or not, I’m currently reading that wretched book, and yes it is boring, but it’s boring in a fascinating-history-kind-of-way. Can you believe the irony? I’m studying the fictional history of a fictional world, instead of the actual history I have to know for my exams. *cries at stupidity*
  • Fanfiction. Reading and writing it. Currently Harry Potter, Avengers, LoTR and Silmarillion. It’s an addiction. And for some reason I am always cheering for the bad guys. *sighs and shakes head*
  • Black Speech. I blame the two previous points, in combination with the awesome Scatha from TheLandOfShadow.Com. Why, why can’t French (or any other useful language) be this easy to learn? WHY?! *despairs* And to think I had a life once…
  • Panic Attacks. Rather unrelated to the previously mentioned obstacles, I’m afraid I will have to fight my panic on a regular basis now. Got extra medication prescribed to keep a leash on the rest of my symptoms, but I find that there isn’t much that helps against justified terror in the face of imminent doom.

I could use someone who makes me swear an unbreakable study-oath, or perhaps someone who threatens to cut off my hands if I don’t study… and if you could send some conviction my way that would be awesome too. Either way, I think I’m going to print this out and hang it over my desk…

loki_sees_by_fangirltoisengard-d49wgcc

About quantumphysica

My name is QuantumPhysica The Insane, but you can call me QP. I am insane, admitted to a mental hospital in Belgium, and waiting for a decent diagnosis at the moment. Once I was a physics student with goals in life and what more; now I'm simply the patient of Room 93. Ever wondered what life is like in the psychiatric ward? I'll tell you everything you ever wanted to know... I am... particularly twitchy of personality. But I also am genuinely interested in everything. There is nothing that doesn't interest me, really. Everything, from quantum computers to fashion and cars to traveling... I also give advice. On anything. No taboos whatsoever. And I make lists of things...
This entry was posted in Insanity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Glorious Purpose, Mark II…

  1. blacksun321 says:

    Can totally relate about the Silmarillion. It’s been a frequent point of dissension between me and other rpg/fantasy buffs that I was never a really big fan of LoTR. It’s a great story, but Tolkien spends a great deal of time on the small details, geography, family lineage. And the way my mind works, small details tend to get blurry after a while, so I have a hard time reading it. Just a personal preference based on my information processing methods. Not a judgment on the books’ quality, which I still feel is very high.

    Can also relate a great deal to “cheering for the bad guys”. A lot of writers lately are learning the trick of creating sympathetic villains, so that you have to ask yourself, “If I was in that situation, if everything that happened to them happened to me, could I really say I wouldn’t do the exact same thing?” But even before that, I always had a penchant for finding the relatable qualities in villains, which for me were usually a lot more relatable than the heroes. “Truth, justice, and the American Way”? No, thank you. Truth and justice maybe, but those concepts seem to have nothing to do with the American Way.

Leave a Reply

