Hands On… Handy Chairs

SPYKIDS-43Does anyone remember the first “Spy Kids” movie? I was in primary school at the time it came out, and I was a big fan of Fegan Floop, the not-so-evil-evil-guy of the story. The thing I loved most about the movie, besides Floop, was his chair. It was a very memorable hand-shaped chair, and quite possibly the thing that lit my enthusiasm for furniture… Especially human-anatomy-inspired furniture then. Either way, I have always stayed on the lookout for hand-shaped chairs, and… here they are!

chairs-u

These chairs are available from the obviously named web-shop http://www.handshapedchairs.com/

If you have more money to spend and are looking for a high design version of a hand-shaped chair, artist Pedro Friedeberg may have what you are looking for… Unfortunately these pieces are actual art and only sold on auctions as far as I know.

      friedeberg_hand_chair      friedeberg_handchair-thumb  hand_chair2

So… do I have an obsession with hands? Perhaps. There are worse things.

About quantumphysica

My name is QuantumPhysica The Insane, but you can call me QP. I am insane, admitted to a mental hospital in Belgium, and waiting for a decent diagnosis at the moment. Once I was a physics student with goals in life and what more; now I'm simply the patient of Room 93. Ever wondered what life is like in the psychiatric ward? I'll tell you everything you ever wanted to know... I am... particularly twitchy of personality. But I also am genuinely interested in everything. There is nothing that doesn't interest me, really. Everything, from quantum computers to fashion and cars to traveling... I also give advice. On anything. No taboos whatsoever. And I make lists of things...
This entry was posted in Design and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hands On… Handy Chairs

  1. You really come across some very cool stuff..

Leave a Reply

