News That Makes Me Sad…

I read this on the blog of Leonie Fennell, and it made me feel really sad. Is this what our world is coming to?

“For schizophrenia generally you are 10 times more likely to be dead at the end of the first year of treatment than you were 100 years ago – there may be no other disorder in medicine where you could say this.”

This is a statement from Prof. Healy, supported by data in a paper in the British Medical Journal, titled ‘Mortality in schizophrenia and related psychoses: data from two cohorts’. 

Just felt like sharing this. There is something wrong with our mental health system…

About quantumphysica

My name is QuantumPhysica The Insane, but you can call me QP. I am insane, admitted to a mental hospital in Belgium, and waiting for a decent diagnosis at the moment. Once I was a physics student with goals in life and what more; now I'm simply the patient of Room 93. Ever wondered what life is like in the psychiatric ward? I'll tell you everything you ever wanted to know... I am... particularly twitchy of personality. But I also am genuinely interested in everything. There is nothing that doesn't interest me, really. Everything, from quantum computers to fashion and cars to traveling... I also give advice. On anything. No taboos whatsoever. And I make lists of things...
This entry was posted in Insanity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to News That Makes Me Sad…

  1. tteclod says:

    In other words, suffer in silencen and you’ll live longer.

    Of course, all my forebears knew you only entered a hospital to die; why should mental health be any different?

  2. I LOVE HEALY!!!!!!!

    I’ve read this before, that schizophrenia patients improved and managed their symptoms better when we had support places for them to live. That whole “sanitarium” idea. Now, it’s about medication…..

    • It’s a sad thing. As a schizophrenia patient I have seen and experienced the treatment, and I can easily understand how the comorbidity has risen so high… It takes ages for the antipsychotics to be on the correct dose, and meanwhile you’re either a zombie, or physically really sick, or gaining weight like crazy, or a psychotic wreck. It’s not so hard to see where the problems come from. I’m pro the sanitarium idea too, I think there were a lot of good things in old treatment methods but modern science has “discarded the child with the bath water”, as we say in Belgium…

      • We use that saying in Canada as well. I can only imagine how difficult it’s been to navigate the mental health system with a diagnosis that usually has a grave prognosis. We need other ways to deal with our emotional issues. This medication thing is only one.

  3. Al K Hall says:

    There’s an area of treatment where mortality is *higher* now than 100 years ago!? That’s insane.

Leave a Reply

